June News from the BSCSD

Ballston Spa Students Compete at Regional Envirothon Competition

The members of the Ballston Spa High School Envirothon Team recently competed in the Saratoga Regional Envirothon Competition at the Saratoga County Fairgrounds.  The event was held in-person this year after being held virtually during the pandemic and COVID-19 restrictions. Our team placed first in the Aquatics and Forestry categories and second overall in the county.

Team members are Henry LaBarge, Cameron McKay, Allie Hunter, Jestin Ratti, and Asa Coleman. The team was coached by Ballston Spa High School Science instructor Mrs. Karin Marcotullio. The 2023 team learned a lot and enjoyed participating in person. They are looking forward to competing again next year.

“The NYS Envirothon is an excellent opportunity for our students to apply their knowledge and skills to problems within our environment that need – perhaps desperately need – our attention and the attention of our next generation of scientists,” indicated Ballston Spa K-12 STEM Coordinator Diane Irwin. 

The NY State Envirothon, sponsored by the New York State Soil and Water Conservation Districts, is designed to test students’ knowledge and understanding of natural resource issues within New York State. It also strives to cultivate students’ desire to learn more about our natural resources and environmental issues.  

Envirothon activities begin locally with teams of five 9th through 12th grade students competing for their County Envirothon title. Local competitions are sponsored by their Conservation Districts, with a helping hand from local environmental recreational civic groups and businesses.  County winners then move on to the state contest where their knowledge is challenged in five areas: aquatic ecologyforestrysoils & land usewildlife, and a current environmental issue. For more information please visit https://www.nysenvirothon.org/.

The Ballston Spa Athletic Hall of Fame Celebrates The Class of 2020 Inductees

 The Ballston Spa Athletics Hall of Fame Committee honored the inductees into the 2020 Ballston Spa Athletic Hall of Fame after the ceremony was paused for 3 years due to the pandemic. The celebration of the 2020 inductees was held on Saturday, May 20, 2023 at the Ballston Spa High School.

Five individuals and two teams were inducted:

  • Rosina Brooks (athlete)
  • Steven Hart (athlete)
  • Regan Johnson (athlete)
  • Patrick Shaw (athlete)
  • Mark Thomas (athlete)
  • 1992 Men’s Soccer Team: Nick Alexander, Chris Brandt, Tom Cutbush, Gilbert DeLucia, Ted Gordon, Jason Gorman, Chris Hebbard, Scott Horner, Matt Kolesar, Zach Komon, Bryan Kozlowski, Tim Le, Tim Lucey, Josh McCann, Jason Miller, Dave Perez, Bill Powhida, Art Rastinehad, Aketza (Ace) Sabin*, Jeff Semanscin, Randy Simmons, Matt Ward, John Williams (Coach Wayne Akey)
  • 2006 Women’s Volleyball Team: Christine Staulters Copacino, Meghan Crozier, Christie Fodera Hoover, Jessica Lawlor, Casey Wright Leach, Jacqueline Cinella Rich, Katie Sheeran, Grace Smisloff, Katie Staulters Suppes, Jillian Thibault, Kristie Gratto Webber, Chryesse Wells
  • (Coach Sylvia Bertrand)

Nominations for the Class of 2024 will be accepted until January 15, 2024. To submit a nomination, or for more information, please visit our website at ballstonspaathleticshalloffame.com.

The mission of the Ballston Spa Athletics Hall of Fame is to recognize athletes, coaches, administrators, faculty and community members who have made significant contributions to the Ballston Spa Athletics program through their service, performance, dedication, commitment and accomplishment.

Ballston Spa Honors College Bound Athletes

The Ballston Spa Central School District’s Athletic Department recently held a recognition ceremony for six graduating athletes who are joining a Division ll level college team next year. The ceremony was held in the Ballston Spa High School Library on June 1, 2023.

Student athletes honored (with sport and college) include: Charles Burmaster, Lacrosse – Franklin Pierce University; Shane Slezak, Baseball – The College of St. Rose; Sean Dwyer, Lacrosse – The College of St. Rose; Dominick Zichelli, Lacrosse – The College of St. Rose; Troy Gottmann, Lacrosse – The College of St. Rose and Jacob Armer, Track & Field – St. Bonaventure University.

Congratulations to all the athletes, their families and also a big thank you to their coaches. Please contact the BSCSD Athletic Department for more information at (518) 884-7150.



Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)